Scroll Top

Welcome to the Pakistan Society for Rheumatology (PSR)

As Pakistan was approaching the half-century mark of its existence, a small group of doctors sowed the seeds of developing the sub-speciality of Rheumatology in the country; a development which other countries had been enjoying for the last several decades already.


Rheumatic diseases are the single largest cause of physical disability in all cultures of the world. The amount of working days lost due to such diseases and the consequent loss to the national and the patient’s domestic economy is huge. Thus far, the health planners in Pakistan have neglected this field in favour of concentrating on infectious and cardiac diseases. Perhaps the meagre health resources do not permit us to allocate funds to other ailments. These are trying times for our country and it falls upon individuals with a sense of national duty to chip in with their contributions. It is with this ideology that the Pakistan Society for Rheumatology was formed.


About PSR

The Pakistan Society for Rheumatology is a pioneering platform which was formed in 1995, with a view to enhance the knowledge about rheumatic diseases in Pakistan and to encourage further development of expertise in this field. It took its roots from the Pakistan Rheumatic Society which was started in Karachi in 1970, by a group of leading doctors. These physicians were themselves not formally trained in this field but realized the responsibility of ensuring the inclusion of Pakistan’s name in international forums.


Even though initially the activities within Pakistan remained confined to sporadic meetings in Karachi itself, people like Dr S.R.A. Kirmani and Dr. Samad Shera kept the beacon of hope alive from and within Pakistan. It was in the early 1990’s that a small group of Rheumatologists who had trained in the UK and USA returned to Pakistan with the commitment to introduce advanced Rheumatology education and care. With the blessing of the old guard, the flame was passed on to the new generation and since then there has been no looking back.


The first set of office bearers included Dr. Azra Ali (President), Dr. Khurram Manzoor Chowdhry (President-elect), Dr. Abid Farooqi (General Secretary), Dr Kamran Hameed (Joint Secretary) and Dr. Shahid Abbas (Finance Secretary). These representatives succeeded in getting the credentials of the Society accepted internationally within a few months and the PSR was registered as the representative national society from Pakistan among the International League of Associations for Rheumatology (ILAR).


Annual scientific meetings have been organized in Islamabad, Karachi and Lahore with participation from internationally famous rheumatologists from abroad and the stage is set for producing respectable opinion leaders available within our own country. Within this short span of time a number of international publications of original scientific research have appeared in leading rheumatology journals and Pakistan’s name is beginning to be credible in the world of Rheumatology today.


  • To promote the development of scientific knowledge about the medical specialty of rheumatology
  • To create awareness about rheumatic diseases in general population and their treatment.
  • To establish liaison with similar societies abroad.
  • Organization of facilities to study and treat rheumatic diseases.





Prof. Rakhshanda Rehman

Dean School of Health Sciences

Prof. Jamshed Nasir

Associate Dean School of Health

Science, Principal FMHCM&D


Chair Scientific Committee

Prof. Nighat Mir Ahmad MD

HOD Division of Rheumatology

FMH College of Medicine

Co-Chair Scientific Committee

Prof. Sumaira Farman Raja

Professor of Rheumatology

FMH College of Medicine

Conference Convener

Dr. Muhammad Ahmed Saeed

Associate Professor Rheumatology

FMH College of Medicine



Dr. Saira E. A. Khan

Assistant Professor Rheumatology

FMH College of Medicine

General Secretary

Dr. Shabnam Batool

Senior Registrar Rheumatology

FMH College of Medicine





Prof. Abid Z. Farooqui


Prof. Kamran Hameed Prof. Tafazzul-e-Haque Mahmud
Prof. Faqeer Muhammad


Prof. Masood-ur-Rehman Prof. Wajahat Aziz
Dr. Javaid Mehmood Malik


Dr. Syed Mehfooz Alam Dr. Shakeel Baig
Dr. Samina Ghaznavi


Prof. Amjad Taqweem Dr. Amir Riaz
Dr. Saliha Ishaq


Dr. Tahira Perveen umar Dr. Ahmed Iqbal Mirza
Dr. Aflak Rasheed


Prof. Amjad Nasim Dr. Babur Salim
Dr. Tajvur P. Sabar

Pakistan Society for Rheumatology (PSR) is holding its 22nd Annual International Conference from 6th – 8th April, 2018 in the magnificent city of Lahore. Division of Rheumatology, FMH College of Medicine is organizing its 4th international conference in collaboration with Pakistan Society for Rheumatology.


Prof. Nighat Mir Ahmad had served as PSR president previously and presently heading the FMH Division of Rheumatology. One of the key member of FMH Division of Rheumatology, Prof. Sumaira Farman Raja is the current president of PSR, setting benchmark for a successful 22nd PSR Conference. The conference convener Dr. Muhammad Ahmed Saeed, another well reputed figure of FHM Division of Rheumatology, is performing responsibilities as Treasurer of PSR and previously acted as General Secretary of PSR.


The three PSR conferences organized, in last decade,  by FMH Division of Rheumatology has already been very well attended by consultant rheumatologists, fellows in training, medical consultants, family physicians, orthopedic surgeons and rehabilitation specialists from all over the country. We envisage that the 22nd PSR conference will be a success, attracting distinguished international speakers delivering lectures on key topics in Rheumatology. There will be interactive workshops including paediatric rheumatology, MSK & imaging and osteoporosis workshop, free paper sessions and pre-conference review course for post graduate trainees in Rheumatology.


Prof. Sumaira Farman RajaMBBS, FRCP, SCE Rheumatology (UK), FACP, FACR

Graduate Certificate Paediatric Rheumatology (Australia),
Professor of Rheumatology, Division of Rheumatology,
FMH college of Medicine & Dentistry, Lahore.

Prof. Wajahat Aziz FCPS, MRCP, FACP, FACR

Professor of Rheumatology,
Department of Rheumatology,
Pakistan Institute of Medical Sciences,

Dr. Muhammad Ahmed Saeed
MBBS, FCPS Medicine, FCPS Rheumatology, FACR.

Consultant Physician and Rheumatologist
Associate Professor, Division of Rheumatology
FMH College of Medicine and Dentistry, Lahore

Dr. Babur SalimMBBS, FCPS(Medicine), FCPS(Rheumatology),
FIPM(Pain Med),MSc(Pain Med)
Assistant Professor Rheumatology
Fauji Foundation Hospital, Rawalpindi
Dr. Saira E. Anwer khanMRCP (UK), SCE (Rheumatology)

Assistant Professor, Division of Rheumatology,

FMH College of Medicine and Dentistry, Lahore


Donate Now
Donate Box
  • No products in the cart.
Your cart is currently empty.
No products in the cart.